Front Page

Hate

In by Chris on February 27, 2013 at 11:01 pm

“I hate everything here!” The girl, dressed all in purple sheen, hunched in the shopping cart with an exaggerated pout.

Her mom, appraising bottles of shampoo, said, “No you don’t. You want it all. Just cuz I’m not buying you a thing doesn’t mean you hate it.”

“I hate it. I hate you.”

Mom ignored her.

It was bad enough being in Target, moonlighting as a secret shopper, but seeing a mom talk to her kid like that put me over the edge. I abandoned my cart full of Coke Zero and bath towls and walked straight out of there.

Leave a Reply

