Front Page

Untitled

In by Emilie on July 31, 2012 at 8:56 am

My education does not help me at all. The third world farmer bounds down the quebrada. I balance rickety and put one foot haltingly down. Cooking with firewood I almost burn the rice. He is there to save it – “clear the wood to coals!” he says exasperatedly. I can’t cut trails through the woods like he can, making big broad sweeps with my machete. I get a painful blister. It takes 2 weeks to heal. My foot is a scab of mosquito bites. I might be ‘prepared’ for the outside world but not for this one. Here I am inept.

Leave a Reply

