Front Page

My Body Can Handle It (The Shit)

In by Chris on May 27, 2012 at 11:55 am

I dropped a tortilla chip. Two bits cracked off when it struck the sidewalk.

As I reached down for it, a man behind me said, “You going to eat that chip?”

“Huh?” I said, looking from the yellow chip to him. “Why not?”

“You know what’s happened on that sidewalk? All the shit spilled on there? Oil, gas, poison, gum, chemicals. I wouldn’t put none of it in my mouth.”

I shrugged. “If it’s on the sidewalk, then it’s in the air too. My body’s been getting shit my whole life, and I’m fine. Hate to waste a good chip.”

Leave a Reply

