Front Page

In Defense of Helmets

In by Allison on January 5, 2011 at 5:33 pm

Yeah, I wear a bike helmet. It’s the ugly kind from the Campus Bike Shop, and yes, I’m sure sometimes I get mistaken for a grad student. Yup, you’re right, when it rains my helmet feels kind of like a soggy mushroom. And when it’s sunny, my head sweats a little. (I know. Gross).

But every time I’m tempted to leave without it, I imagine the call to my dad from the hospital.

“Sir, we have some good news and some bad news. The good news is that your daughter never suffered from Helmet Hair. The bad news is…”

Leave a Reply

