Front Page

Old Money

In by Michael on November 27, 2010 at 10:14 pm

I walk through the Burberry store wearing jeans and a tee, and a cable travels from my backpack to my headphones turned all the way up.

Heads turn. “This isn’t right, this isn’t how it’s supposed to be,” say the sharp stares of the fine patrons of the boutique. “We came here to get away from that.”

I don’t know why I’m here. My dad loves this stuff, the $600 scarves, and smell of old money and arrogance. Who here is happy besides me? I don’t understand it; I feel like I’m in a museum of the rich and confused.

 

  1. This is really good, especially how you’re happy while you’re there even though you’re confused. Maybe a little bit of arrogance in your happiness? Arrogance as in: thank god I’m not like them. I know it’s how I feel often, it’s good to have the cable from backpack to headphones to keep you grounded.

  2. Haha yeah, you’re right on.

    This piece isn’t exactly autobiographical though – I actually dig pricey fashion way more than my dad.

Leave a Reply

