Front Page

Morning Alarm (November 18, 2010)

In by Fannie on November 26, 2010 at 7:00 pm

It’s dark except for three holes of light coming through the wall.  Someone is awake and going to the bathroom.  I am awake.  My watch says something like 3:00am when I push the button called “Indiglo.”  Suddenly, at 3:08am, I hear a first crow.  Mid-crow this rooster has a rooster crowing friend.  And another.  A cacophony of cock-a-doodle-doos crescendo into a sound so piercing that I surmise everyone else in the bunkroom has to be awake.  I hear some tossing and turning sleeping bags, then, quiet.  The bathroom light is off.  I guess I never was one to hit snooze.

Leave a Reply

