Front Page

Fall In Hawaii by Fannie Watkinson

In by New Author on November 15, 2010 at 10:02 am

We’re in the mountains
and the smell is of crisp and cool
of rain showers recently past and decomposing detritus.
Here and now?
The pathways arch with trees
and leaves
littering the ground
have tricked me
but I’ll take it
here and now.
Body churning, hot, working
but breathed cool by the winds
feet thankful for the cool moist soils.

My body does not know how to express itself
My eyes are bedizened by the contrast
My brain cannot comprehend the vastness
But my nose is happy; it runs with joy
And I have “chicken skin” (goosebumps) on my arms

 

Leave a Reply

