Front Page

Pronouns by Fannie Watkinson

In by New Author on November 10, 2010 at 12:37 am

Why you versus us? The distinction that is made in the words you speak separate us, physically.  I understand enough to know that we versus us is not personal; it is a longstanding wound covered over with scar tissue.  But it still hurts.  How long does it take to heal something that goes generations deep?  Silently, I argue that there’s no relation between me and them.  But there is – think ancestrally.  Everything is connected here and I am what came before me.  But how long do I have to wait until I can join hands with you?  Till we become?

 

Leave a Reply

