Front Page

Demon in a Bottle I

In by K.M. on November 7, 2010 at 10:03 pm

I don’t remember the number
of loving words, tender glances, or
star-kissed night that have circled
the rim of this poison, prison
bottle, trembled, and fallen to
where I cannot retrieve them.
Undying regret is the only title
to that period of struggle
against the generations of uncles
and stepfathers buried just past the cork.
I wish desperately for those nights again, to
pour out my shame, slam that glass to sand,
and forever engrain my renewed resolve to you.
Make me new, and reflect in blue
crystal twins this vow, that no power
of nature unnatural claims my mind.

Leave a Reply

