Front Page

Ladybug Season

In by Chris on August 11, 2010 at 11:57 pm

I followed the ranger’s wide-brimmed hat through the thick forest. Ladybugs dripped off the trees all around.

“Quiet now.” He motioned me down behind a fallen tree. We could hear a scraping, shuffling sound beyond.

I peaked up and over and saw them – the ladybug poachers. I was prepared for almost anything, but not for two old women in flower print dresses.

“We nab them every year,” the ranger whispered to me. “And every year they return.”

I was about to stand up chuckling, but he grabbed my arm and yanked me down again. “These women will stop at nothing!”

  1. I laughed out loud…..oh, to have been a fly on the wall…..(not a ladybug, obviously, hazardous occupation)

  2. Best part? Ladybug poachers actually exist up in Muir Woods. Though I’m not sure they’re wearing flower-print dresses.

Leave a Reply

